2018 Texas Lone Star Open Contest Winners

The 2018 Texas Lone Star Bid Calling Contest Champion is...

[Toya McLeod pictured with Tony Langdon-2017 TLSO Contest Champion]

2018 Texas Lone Star Open Contest - October 26 - 3PM-6PM


provided by Superior Livestock Auction


The Texas Lone Star Open Bid Calling Contest will be held at the historic Stockman's Club in Stockyard Station in Fort Worth on Friday, October 26th from 3PM to 6PM.

  • 1st place - $5,000 cash + Signature Texas Buckle
  • Reserve: $1,500 cash
  • 3rd Place: $500 cash

This competition is OPEN to ALL Auctioneers over 18.
The TOP 4 Auctioneers will move to the Final Round (3 with highest scores & 1 judges wild card pick).

More details including rules and deadlines can be found below.



as of October 10, 2018

America's Auction Academy
SWICO Auctions

Lemley Auction Services
Tony Langdon Auctions

Lambert Auctions
Lemons Auctioneers & Online Pros

PARTNERS: (in kind)
Guitar Center
HYO Silver
Red Steagall Cowboy Gathering
Shearer Printing
Superior Livestock Auction and Land Network
Texas Auctioneer Association
Woolard's Custom Jewelers

Superior Livestock Auction & Land Network
The Ranch 95.9 - radio
Hank FM 92.1 - radio
Lemons Auctioneers & Online Pros
Robinett Auction Services

ATX Auctions
Auto Auction Lubbock
Card Master Solutions
FR Liquidation & Auctions
Trinity Auction Gallery



1st Place: $5,000 cash + Signature Texas Buckle Reserve: $1,500 cash + Buckle 3rd: $500 cash **Highest Scoring Rookie: Buckle (3 years in practice) **Highest Scoring Female Auctioneer: Buckle

**NEW Categories this year!

Entry Fees & Deadlines

Entry Fee: $500 OPEN TO ALL AUCTIONEERS OVER 18 (sign disclosures below) $600 OCT 12-23 *No entries will be taken at the door 2 ITEMS: Contestants must provide 2 items valued at $100 each for preliminary round, subject to approval. Items for Final Round: 2 Items will be provided for each finalist by TAA. Promotion Deadline: To be Included in the printed & online Catalog, you MUST send registration & maximum 25-word picture/description of each preliminary item by OCT 5. All contestants will receive: – FREE listing in the online and printed catalog – FREE souvenir Contestant T-Shirt – FREE Friday ticket to Red Steagall Cowboy Gathering – Video access of competition

Rules & Information

All contestants will compete together with no separate divisions. Contestants will be judged according to the Texas Lone Star Open scorecard criteria. The decision of the judges is final. There will be a minimum of 3 judges. Questions can be forwarded to info@auctioneers.org or troy@robinettauctionservices.com. The order of the contestants will be established by random draw during the Friday meeting at 1:30PM. Attendance is mandatory at the Friday meeting and contestants must be dressed and ready to compete and items must be checked in BEFORE meeting. Contestants that do not check in by 1:30PM, will be ineligible and fees non –refundable. The finalists scores will start new in the finals round. Contests will be videoed and live streamed Contestants authorize without compensation, use of any and all video, internet, photos, etc as footage for promotional use by the Texas Auctioneer Association or the event. Any revisions or changes announced on the day of contest will take precedent over any printed material. The Texas Lone Star Open committee or authorized designees will set the sound system and may adjust to benefit the contest. The Texas Lone Star Open committee reserves the right to except or reject any contestant’s entry into the contest. Attire is suggested to be “professional western”. PRELIMINARY ROUND: All contestants must bring two items valued at $100 each to sell in the preliminary round and sell their own items. Entries will be accepted up to October 20, 2018, midnight. No entries will be taken at the door. - Description & pictures must be sent to info@texasauctioneers.org no later than October 5, 2018 to be included in the printed TLSO catalog. FINALS ROUND: The top three highest scores plus one wildcard contestant will be selected by the judges and will advance to the final round. The 4 finalist scores will start new in the finals round. Two items will be provided by the contest committee for each contestant in the final round. In the event of a tie, the high scores in the category of determining if the “auctioneer would be hired” will be added back in to the contestant’s total scores of those in the tie.

Book Hotel

Towne Place Suites Marriott 805 East Belknap Ft. Worth, TX 76102 817-332-6300 Ask for the $109 ‘Texas Lone Star Open’ block rate. Contact TAA with any issues.

2017 TSLO Live