Resources


General Information for Auctioneers
Useful tools and resources for Auctioneers

  • Comptroller’s Office – Sales Tax Information

License and Exam Info

license_exam_hd

Please visit the following Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation sites for complete information on auctioneer  license and exam.

Texas Auctioneer Rules 

Texas Auctioneer Law

Study Guide

 

 


TDLR

tdlr_hd

Auctioneer Green Resource Guide

TAA has designed these resources pages in an effort to keep members, and non-members, updated on the latest industry developments at the regulatory and legislative level.  Please visit the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation to view the rules and regulations that govern Texas licensed auctioneers.http://www.license.state.tx.us How can I get involved and keep informed?If you would like to follow, and be involved in, TDLR’s rule implementing process, you can do so by accessinghttp://www.license.state.tx.us/legeupdate.htm and signing up for the email notification system. TDLR has posted information on new legislation which affects the Department’s program and functions.Please encourage others who are interested in our programs to sign up for our email message notification system, http://www.license.state.tx.us/newsletters/TDLRnotificationLists.asp.Click on the following documents for new information from TDLR.

Listed below are probably the most violated laws and rules. However, please note that there are a couple of items listed that have to do with the overall knowledge of the auction business.

  • Advertising violations (covers entire spectrum from false, deceptive, and misleading ads to omitting name and license number in ads and license number in Yellow Pages ads.
  • Failure to report to TDLR changes in address within 30 days.
  • Bid calling for an auction company not owned or operated by a Texas Licensed Auctioneer.
  • Failure to file an assumed name certificate with TDLR
  • Failure to post TDLR notice requirements at auctions.
  • Failure to include TDLR notice information on Consignor/Seller contracts.
  • Failure to include information about the TDLR’s Education and Recovery Fund in opening statements at an auction or on notice form.
  • Failing to pay consignors/sellers and/or account for property sold at auction.
  • Failure to pay State Sales Tax in a timely manner.
  • Failure to announce/post the amount of a Buyer’s Premium (if any) in ads and/or at the auction.
  • Failure to know exemptions from laws/rules indicating a lack of overall knowledge of other laws/rules affecting items sold at auction.
  • Failure to know and understand Texas Auctioneer Law and rules, which is only a small part of the knowledge, required to operate a business within all applicable State/Federal laws and rules.
  • Failure to keep required records for the period of time required by Texas Auction Law.
  • Failure to renew a Texas Auctioneer License in a timely manner, and then trying to get out of re-taking the examination.
  • Bid calling during the 30-day period when the Texas Auctioneer License is invalid due to failure to renew on time.
  • A Texas Licensed Auctioneer allowing an unlicensed person to bid call.

Legislation

legislation_hd

TEXAS LEGISLATURE ONLINE 

The website for the Texas Legislature provides information on legislation, committees, house, and senate.

To print the text of a specific bill, go to “Bill Action and Vote History,” enter SB or HB bill number, and click “Go.”

STATE LINKS

Office of the Texas Governor

Texas Senate 

Texas House of Representatives 

Texas Secretary of State 

Texas Legislature Online 

Texas Association of Chambers and Commerce

Texas Weekly 

 

 

 

License & Renewal Info

When does my license expire?  TDLR

Website – http://www.license.state.tx.us/LicenseSearch
Renew my license online. TDLR

Website – http://www.license.state.tx.us/auc/auction.htm

***********************************************************

For holders of Auctioneer and Associate Auctioneer licenses expiring on or after January 1, 2006, six hours of TDLR approved continuing education courses will be required to renew that license. Two of these six hours must be instruction in laws and rules that regulate the conduct of auctioneers and associate auctioneers. The other four hours must be courses taken in one or more of the following subjects:

  • Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1802, Auctioneers.
  • Title 16, Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 67, Auctioneers Administrative Rules.
  • Other laws and rules that regulate the conduct of auctioneers and associate auctioneers.
  • Auction-related laws, such as the Uniform Commercial Code – Sales, Title 1, Chapter 2, Texas Business and Commerce Code §2.328 and the Deceptive Trade Practices-Consumer Protection Act, Chapter 17, Subchapter E, Texas Business and Commerce Code.
  • Business practices, such as insurance, auction ethics, contracts, maintenance of trust accounts, and marketing.

Continuing education courses must be completed within the term of the license being renewed. For example, if a license expires on June 15, 2006, the continuing education courses taken to renew that license must have been taken between June 15, 2005 and June 15, 2006.

For a late renewal, the continuing education courses must have been completed within the one year period immediately prior to the date of renewal.

Licensees may not receive continuing education credit for attending the same course more than once for one renewal period. Further, licensees must retain a copy of the certificate of completion for a course for one year after the date of completion. In conducting any inspection or investigation of the licensee, the department may examine the licensee’s records to determine compliance.


Auction Calendar

Apr 2017

Use the calendar above to view all auctions on a given day.

Auction Search



Quarterly News

Monthly Auction News

Processing Auction...
Saving Draft...